I have got to start bringing my camera with me. Yesterday was actually a pretty good day. A little complicated and tiring towards the end, but good. I got to have a group chat on skype with my mom, dad, and brother (who's currently in Australia). And I saw my baby kitty for the first time in what feels like forever ;_;
I miss him so much. Just looking at his pictures makes me all weepy eyed. That's the love of my life though <3
But, back to the original topic of this post before the entire thing becomes me crying about missing my yetti...
Yes, I got talk to my entire family, which was really nice. Almost like being at home again. After I got off of skype with them, I had to get ready to go to class. The only class I have on Friday is kanji. Which was actually really really good. It's a move at your own pace/set your own goals class. They let me pick which lesson of the text books I felt most comfortable starting at too. They use the Basic Kanji Book by Bonjinsha Co. I'm starting in volume 2, lesson 39. I want to finish the book by the end of the semester. The last lesson is lesson 45, so I think 16 lessons in 15 weeks is easily doable :)
After class was over, I ended up going to Amu Plaza with the Australian girl (I'm choosing not to use people's names on here should I mention anyone other than myself or like Andrea [who in reality is probably one of the only people reading this]). She's really nice, it was cool of her to hang out with me all day too. I haven't really been out with anyone other than my tutor since I got here, so it was fun. She probably thinks I'm crazy though. Every time I see an item with a cat on it, I stop.
Amu Plaza is in the Kagoshima Central Station. Its got tons of stores, arcades, movie theater, food, and a huge ferris wheel on top. I have to make sure I ride it at least once before I leave here! I also want to get a picture of it at night when it's all pretty and lit up. There were a lot of really neat stores though, I want to go back soon to grab somethings that I saw. The first store we went into had a really cute blazer with stars all over it, but it was crazy expensive ;_; I did see a really nice looking glasses case with a cat face on it that wasn't too expensive that I might go back and get if they still have it though. I've finally made it to someplace that loves cats almost as much as I do hahaha. There was also a beading/craft supply store that had really pretty rings and earrings. I was a little upset because there were a few pairs of really cute, dainty earrings that I loved! Stupid nickel allergy though, so I probably wouldn't be able to wear them without coating them in clear nail polish or finding those special earring post cover things. There was one store in particular that stood out to me the most though. All the clothes had cute ghosts and cats on everything. I want to go back and get like everything. There was one store that had a pair of black pleather shorts too. I think they'd be really good for the Koda Kumi concert in July. While we were wandering around we found out that a lot of the people at the kaikan went to Sakurajima and to an onsen without us though :( There's always time to go, since I'm here until August, but it still sucks to be excluded. As it is no one seems to bother inviting me to go places. I think it's partly because I don't have a bike, so I'm bothersome to everyone. I can only figure the other part of it is the fact that I'm so quiet. One thing I can't understand though is why people seem to want to wait until nearly 10pm to eat? 10pm is bed time. 5-6pm is dinner time. Maybe that's just me being a grandma though. Last night was the latest I've stayed up since I left home. Since I got here I've been sleeping nearly 12 hours every night, going to bed at like 8pm and waking up around 7am. And I must say, I can feel the difference today. I'm so tired. I woke up at like 7:30, because I wanted plenty of time to get ready before the kaikan orientation at 9:30. It's only 3pm, but I feel like I've been beat. Doesn't help that my feet hurt from walking so much either...
Oh yeah, yesterday night we did end up going out to eat with the people that went to the onsen. I had tonkatsu ramen. It was a lot better than the ramen at the place that sells it in Atlanta. It made me miss pho days with Andrea though. There's something about that fragrant broth and the noodles, compared to the more savory-ness of the ramen.
Well, that was yesterday, so let's talk about today now. It was boring hahaha. I've mostly stayed around my room all day. I was supposed to go with my tutor to see about getting me a phone after the kaikan orientation, but she cancelled on me -_-; She does this a lot and it wouldn't bother me so much, but can't you tell me the night before? I understand from time to time, but unexpected things don't happen like that all the time. Hopefully we'll be able to go tomorrow though. I also need to go get a few things from the store. Daiso would probably be best for what I need. I need to pick up another pack or two of coat hangers, garbage bags (I found out today that I have to have clear ones), and a broom or something to clean the floors in my room with. If my tutor cancels on me again, then I might go by myself tomorrow. Either that or maybe go explore the nearby shopping center where the Daiei is. Now that I have my internet back it'll be easier for me to look up directions to go different places. I guess I'll just spend the rest of today studying. I really want a nap, but I'm going to go to bed early and keep myself on the 8-7ish sleep schedule for the most part.

0 comments:
Post a Comment