I feel like I haven't posted in a while, so I thought I'd pop in for a bit of an update :)
Not much has been going on since I came back from Hokkaido, just going through the daily grind as always. There's been a lot of stuff going on back in the States with home life, so that's really gotten me down. I mostly try not to think about it. But, let's see what's been going on in Kagoshima lately.
Been working on my group project in American-European Culture class. I'm pretty much already over the class and the group work though. Even in Japan, all group projects teach is how to hate working with other people >_>; I don't even really know what we're doing any more. I think my job was just to read the book they found that was in English and get my friends back home to take pictures of American McDonald's menus and packaging... It's also really got me thinking about the work ethics in Japanese universities. Presentations start on the 25th and next week is the last week for in class group work, but our presentation isn't until July 9. In America that would mean that we have until the 9th to work on our project, but everyone in my group makes it seem like we have to get everything done next week. And there's absolutely no outside effort put into this. I think I was expecting more meetups during the week/end at MCD's and working on our presentation outside of class time. I'm quickly learning that in America we're expected to do so much more work and put in an actual effort than the students here are... Speaking of food last weekend Nehma and I went to a Mexican restaurant here in Kagoshima that's run by an American. It was so good and I don't even like Mexican food...
I also finished booking my trip to Tokyo for July 11-15th. I want to see if I can manage to get tickets to the Ghibli Museum and maybe go to Yokohama for a day trip at some point while I'm there. Then, tomorrow I'm supposed to go hiking again! I don't know how intense it's going to be this time though. And then after that nomihoudai (with food) for a friend's birthday :) That's pretty much all that's going on though ._.; I only have 48 days until I leave Japan and I've started buying things on my "things to buy before I leave" list. The other day I went to BookOff and bought some manga I wanted:
I'm going to try to go again this weekend, maybe on Sunday since Saturday is going to be busy, and see if I can't find some more books I wanted. There's also a few PS2 games that I want to get before I leave (like Kingdom Hearts, Final Fantasy, etc). That reminds me though I also need to look for the new issue of Edge Style magazine, Kuu's on the cover of it *_*
Oh yeah and my tutor, Ayaka, also brought me back some omiyage from when she went to a Tohoshinki concert in Fukuoka.
She also made me look at the Tohoshinki photobook >>; I don't know how to tell her that I don't like them though. She's a major fan girl. I tried the pancake thing and it tasted gross, but the pen is pretty nice. I don't know what the other wafer thing is, it looked too cute to eat hahaha
Hopefully I'll be able to update with something a little more interesting soon :)

0 comments:
Post a Comment